The child safe standards require schools to consider all aspects of child safety and put measures in place to protect children from all forms of abuse, including:

  • sexual or grooming offences
  • physical violence
  • serious emotional or psychological harm
  • Serious neglect.

Below are the eleven child safe standards. The Minister for Education has set out in Ministerial Order No. 1359 what specific actions schools need to take to meet the child safe standards.

1. Aborginal Cultural Safety
2. School Leadership,governance and culture
3. Children are safe,informed and actively participate
4. Family Engagement
5. Equity & Diverse Needs
6. Suitable Staff & Volunteers
7. Complaints Process
8. Child Safety Knowledge,skills & awareness
9. Physical and online environments
10. Review of Child Safety Practices
11. Implementation of Child Safety Practices
All standards School governing authorities must take account the diversity of all children, including (but not limited to) the needs of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children, children from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds, children with disabilities and children who are vulnerable (schools only).

For more information about Victoria’s child safe standards and schools, visit